Granada and Segovia

The weekend of November 9-11 a couple friends and I took a bus down to Granada in Andalucia, Spain. I had visited Granada a couple years ago when I was in Spain during my BBYO trip. Because of my previous visit, I didn’t feel as much of a need to see all the major sites. This made it more of a relaxing trip instead of a rushed, touristy, need-to-see-everything trip.

Despite all that we still had a great time and stayed in an awesome location, right near Las Calderias which is the area with tons of Arabic influence and Moroccan street-life. Pretty ironic since I had been in Morocco the weekend before! We were very close to the center of the city, Plaza Nueva, where there is a nice fountain and lots of cute cafes.

Granada has a great tapas culture, so we spent all day Saturday tapas-bar hopping around the city. On Sunday a group of people went to see La Alhambra, but since I had already been I skipped it and explored a little on my own. I checked out the cathedral, bought a couple souvenirs, and hiked up to the Mirador de San Nicolás in the Albayzin and saw a fantastic view of the Alhambra.

DSCN0519

View of Alhambra Palace

The weekend after Granada, of November 16, the Fundación sponsored a day trip to Segovia. Segovia is a city in the region of Castille y León, Spain. We visited the famous Alcázar of Segovia, which was originally built as a fortress but served as a royal palace as well. It is absolutely beautiful and was one of the inspirations for Walt Disney’s Cinderella Castle. It also reminded me of the Playmobil castle we used to play with as kids! Check it out:

e3cae58c444190000f6c58092d915866

DSCN0527

Screen shot 2012-12-13 at 9.31.31 PM

The inside of the castle was a little less fantastic, but there was a great view at the top. After spending some time exploring the winding staircases and towers (and humming along to Disney princess tunes), we left the Alcazar and went to see Segovia’s famous Aqueduct. It’s pretty impressive and extremely well preserved. Apparently it transports water from the Fuente Fría river situated nearby.

DSCN0558

DSCN0559

We spent time taking pictures and climbing up and around the Aqueduct. Although we were only there for about half a day, Segovia is a great Medieval city and actually reminds me a lot of Toledo!

DSCN0570

2 thoughts on “Granada and Segovia

  1. Great travelogue and photos! I feel like I’ve been there now (even though I never made it to that part of the country on my visit to Spain). Thanks!

Leave a Reply

